Luminous Chaos

Format : Digital Download

Luminous Chaos is loosely based around the concept of light. It opens with a sunrise, and climaxes with a crazy neon rave, and over the course of two hours runs through a spectrum of colors and emotions. It is bursting with layers of beautiful melodies and textures. It is maximalist and melodramatic and unapologetically pretty. I hope you enjoy it!


1. Intro: Underworld – Capa’s Last Transmission Home / A Guy Called Gerald – The Universe
2. 0rbit-al – Belfast
3. Blondes – Elise
4. Dave DK – Halma
5. Lone – Once in a While (Midland Remix)
6. Kalipo – Yaruto
7. Dauwd – Jupiter George
8. Leon Vynehall – Butterflies
9. Nick Hoppner – Come Closer
10. Love Over Entropy – Tonii
11. Luca C & Brigante ft. Roisin Murphy – Invisions (Club Version)
12. Liquid Phonk – Stomp Your Love
13. Jahara – Ceres
14. Panama – It’s Not Over (Dave DK Dub)
15. Chaim – Underwater
16. Maceo Plex – Conjure Dreams
17. Royksopp – I Had This Thing (The Presets Remix)
18. Paul Kalkbrenner – Sky and Sand (Robag’s Borsi Alpakka Rehand)
19. xxxy – Lately
20. Benoit & Sergio – Ibiza Bass
21. KiNK – Pocket Piano (Breakbeat Mix)
22. Norman Webber – 20 Years Muna (Live Athmo Mix)
23. Real Lies – North Circular (Local Hero Remix)
24. Urulu & Steve Huerta – Settle Back Easy Jim
25. Benjamin Damage – Up / Scissor Sisters – Invisible Light (Invisidub)
26. Robert Babicz – Black Lion
27. Nick Hoppner – Airway Management
28. Bwana – Tengo
29. Outro: Manual – Glide

So how do you make a DJ mix based on the concept of light? When I was picking tracks, I was focused all on color and texture. The mix moves through a lot of genres, from ambient electronica to golden-hued house, from club bangers to rave-y breakbeats, modern progressive house to pounding techno… but there’s a sonic theme that ties them all together. All of the tracks have elements that remind me of light: sparkling high-end arpeggios, twinkling bells, synths that pulse and shimmer, and vocals that refract and echo in the ether, as if shot through a prism.

A mix of all bright sounding tracks would become tiresome though, so I wanted to avoid getting stuck in one mood. The overarching ‘storyline’ of the mix is a journey from light into darkness and back. The brightness of the beginning and end is offset by the darker, more melancholy midsection, and speaks to the theme of light, positivity, and getting through dark times. I dunno, I’ve been doing a lot of yoga lately LOL

The light in me honors the light in you.